The Wean

Remember this post where I wasn’t real happy with the decision by the GI doctor & APRN not to go along with my trial off the periactin for Sam?  Well, I talked with a friend of mine, who also happens to have a kiddo with CVS on periactin, and she agreed with me on several things:
  1. the docs in that group don’t really listen
  2. the periactin definitely could be causing Sam’s behavior & sleep issues
  3. trialing him off is a great idea
So, today starts the wean.  He currently takes x mg.  Today we will go to 1/2x mg for a week and then off for 6 weeks and see how he does.  Hopefully he will have no vomiting episodes.  But really, I’m not sure how much the periactin has been helping anyway.  He goes for 4-6 months cycle free and then will have 3-5 cycles all in a row.  That is when they up the dose.  Then wha-laa no more cycles for the 4-6 months.  But is that the periactin helping or is that just the way his cycles naturally go?
 
I think I forgot to mention in that post that he had an opposite reaction to Benadryl when he took it for a drug reaction around age 3.  He was quite hyper and didn’t sleep for days.  That is why I wonder if the periactin is affecting him negatively.  I guess only time will tell.
About Tracey

I'm a 35 year old working mamma to 3 wonderful kiddos all with chronic health issues. View all posts by Tracey

Leave a Reply

